In this video premiere that is exclusive to DRUM! Magazine, Mike Portnoy plays with The Neal Morse Band during production of the band’s brand-new album, The Similitude Of A Dream, out on Friday, November 11 from Radiant Records. This behind-the-scenes glimpse at sessions for the song “Makes No Sense” comes from the album’s Special Edition, which includes the two CDs and The Making Of A Dream DVD.

All five band members—Morse, Portnoy, bassist Randy George, keyboardist Bill Hubauer, and guitarist Eric Gillette—self-produced the album, working with engineer Jerry Guidroz (who is seen in this video with the band) at Radiant Studios in Nashville. Guidroz has tracked 18 albums with Portnoy, including releases from NMB, Transatlantic, Flying Colors, The Winery Dogs, and Metal Allegiance. This is the eighth NMB studio album with Morse, Portnoy, and George, and the second as a true collaboration with this current lineup.

The Neal Morse Band will tour worldwide beginning on January 14, 2017 with a show in Nashville. Tour dates are posted on the band’s official website at www.nealmorseband.com/live.asp.


Check out this story on Mike Portnoy’s drum kit:

Evolution Of Mike Portnoy’s Drum Kit

Plus, watch The Neal Morse Band’s official video for “City Of Destruction,” also from The Similitude Of A Dream: